top of page

Halloween Costumes I Expect to See This Year

By: Hallow Een


I’m tired of all the boring costumes I see every year, where’s the creativity, the passion? Every one of you would disappoint Heidi Klum on Halloween, I mean she dedicated HOURS to standing still with a makeup team to make her into a literal WORM and you can’t even bother to spend more than 10 minutes picking out your costume! I’m setting my hopes high this year and you can use the following list as a guide for picking your costumes.


  1. Barbie: I don’t mean Barbie from the 2023 film, I mean the animated barbie princess movies that we all grew up on. If I don’t see one Barbie from each film I am going to cry.

  2. Sandy Cheeks: I want to see one person dressed up as Sandy from Spongebob Squarepants. Go on amazon or etsy and get a hyperrealistic squirrel suit, then just build the astronaut suit she wears yourself. Follow in Sandy’s footsteps, invent something! Then start talking to every sponge you see.

  3. A Horse: Whatever happened to group costumes? Find 2 of your closest friends and each pick a part of the horse (whichever area is your favorite) and make your costume together. Yes, I said 2, someone needs to be the middle section. Whoever it is better have a strong core as they’ll be planking for the majority of the day. Then on Halloween you get to trot around together in this sweaty horse suit, truly a bonding experience.

  4. Your Professor: Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, so get some brownie points with your favorite or least favorite professor by dressing up like them! I’m expecting wigs, masks, props, and a total voice change. I mean I’m really looking for commitment this Halloween.

  5. Headless Horseman: Now, to do this one right you’ve gotta really commit to the idea of decapitation, enlist a friend for help! This is completely separate from the horse costume I previously mentioned…BUT it doesn't have to be, you could combine it.

  6. Hyperrealistic couch: No explanation needed tbh. Like just be a couch.

  7. The Devil (Warner Bros Exec): You do know about the strikes… right? If you need an explanation on this one then I think you should just sit this Halloween out.

  8. A Cricket: If you're not aware, many buildings on campus have a cricket infestation. This includes the building I live in, we have an infestation! I’m sure there’s an etsy page with a cricket costume, otherwise good luck!


I really don’t think this is a big ask! I’m only demanding 8 costumes so if I don’t see every single one…I am going to start egging dorms. Better close your windows or there will be yolk in your bed! Best of luck with these costumes, don’t disappoint me. Seriously, this is a threat.

Have something to say?

Come write for us! 

Contact thesusquirrel@gmail.com for more information

Want to Draw Squirrels? And other stuff... occasionally.

Contact thesusquirrel@gmail.com for more information

squirrel.png
bottom of page