top of page

Future Nostalgia

By: Dua Lipa


The year is 2033, and I’m back in my childhood bedroom visiting my parents for the holidays. This room is full of relics from my entire life, it’s fascinating! I have my first pair of shoes, my childhood teddy bear, and even my high school diploma. Most importantly, I have my memory box. The tattered Amazon box (that was used to deliver a Halloween costume way back when) contains all of my most prized trinkets from my time at Susquehanna University. How lucky am I to be able to look back on all of my adventures! Here’s what I found:


Cluster of LED Lights

They still have the paint on them from the walls of Smith Hall! And Seibert! And Sass!...Wow!


Mojo Dojo Casa House Flag 

This was bought on a whim. Anyone else do a Barbenheimer double feature in their 20s?


Friendship Bracelet Beads

Oh this reminds me that I have to preorder Taylor Swift’s seventeenth album “Karmavale” on streaming!…And pay the bill for my Spotify Premium subscription. At least I have the Mid-Life Crisis package so it’s only $24 instead of $25!


Blue Razz Ice Elf Bar

I didn’t even vape in college. How did this get here?


Thicc Benny Sticker

I won’t ever forget those luxurious feathers and eyes that surprisingly got kinder halfway through my time at SU.


Stop Sign

Again, how did this get here? Some frat brothers must have smuggled it in after that one night junior year…


Deg Chicken Nugget

After all this time it still smells the same! I’m fighting the urge to find out if it tastes the same too. I still remember the day I saved this: March 7th, 2022!


Baby Squirrel (Preserved in Amber)

This is my most prized possession. I was lucky enough to learn how to preserve things in amber from the newly formed Preservation Club. We mostly practiced using $100 bills (because the school obviously doesn’t need them), so I’m really proud that this held up for so long. I’m grateful to have a reminder of my favorite on-campus news source!


What a joy it’s been to walk down the memory lane of a place I feel so fondly for. Im so sad that SU closed the hour after I graduated due to severe debt. Then it was bulldozed to create the very first Penn State nursing home. I can’t believe all of these things have held up for so long! Remember to hold your loved ones close and cherish college for all that it gives you, especially the chicken nuggets :)

Related Posts

See All

Have something to say?

Come write for us! 

Contact thesusquirrel@gmail.com for more information

Want to Draw Squirrels? And other stuff... occasionally.

Contact thesusquirrel@gmail.com for more information

squirrel.png
bottom of page