top of page

Letters from a GO Student

By: Anonymous 


The SU Squirrel received anonymous letters from a GO student on their trip which bring to light the new way these trips are being run:


Dear Journal,


Hi!! I was told from my GO Class that I should keep a record of my trip to talk about in my reflection class, so I thought why not a journal! We are currently boarding a flight to Hawaii, because why not contribute more to the horrible tourism practices! It was the cheapest trip anyway of 15k even after the GO Grant! Aloha!



Dear Journal,


The plane took us to an island and then flew away? Not sure why…even our professor hopped on and booked it! Maybe he doesn’t want to be spoiled by all the new things we learn on the island so he can be surprised during our reflection class. He’s silly! It’s a good thing I like my fellow classmates. Will update when things get interesting. Going to look for a Dunkin. Bye!


  1.   

Dear Journal, 


Couldn’t find a Dunkin. Actually, I couldn’t find any evidence of civilization on this island. No Marriott hotel either to sleep in. We weren’t taught survival skills in this class…guess I should’ve been an eagle scout. Some of my classmates found some supplies to make a fire. I have a feeling we aren’t going scuba-diving anytime soon…



Dear Journal,


Some of the group started their own clique? It’s literally all business majors and one guy named Duncan. I found out he’s a double major in theatre and bakery science? Didn’t even know that was a thing at Susquehanna. I am drawn to his tempting and enticing nature. Maybe he can make me a bagel! 



Dear Journal,


One of the broadcasting majors brought his camera and he started documenting the trip. That didn’t last long after he shoved the camera in my face when I was having a bad hair day. My makeshift comb got stuck in my hair, and he was trying to document the different ways we’ve been accommodating to the island. So I took his stupid fucking camera and threw it into the ocean. Duncan thought that wasn’t very nice. 



Dear Journal, 


The business majors are fighting. They want total control of the island? Duncan doesn’t seem too interested. P+E majors look like they’ve given up. They huddle in a circle in the sand and talk about the same department drama over and over. I overheard them wanting to start another publication on campus, called “Stranded Magazine” and said it would be entries of other stranded students from other GO trips…Not sure the likelihood of that when we are STRANDED ON AN ISLAND. Also no one wants another publication they won’t read. But I did see Duncan pitching an idea…



Dear Journal,


I did it. I had my Dunkin’. The snackin’ bacon was the closest thing I could get being here. But it was Dunkin’ nonetheless. Oh sorry, I keep spelling his name wrong! Silly me. Duncan tasted a lot like snackin’ bacon. Not the real thing of course. But he would’ve paired well with an iced coffee. Shame. Good guy, guess he should’ve made me that bagel. But we all know that theatre majors can only live in delusion for so long. He couldn’t sing his way out of this one. As Sara Bareilles once said, it only takes a taste, to know it’s good!



These were the only entries we could recover to publish. The student had no further comment to make, and is still working on paying off the loans she took out for the trip. 


Related Posts

See All

Have something to say?

Come write for us! 

Contact thesusquirrel@gmail.com for more information

Want to Draw Squirrels? And other stuff... occasionally.

Contact thesusquirrel@gmail.com for more information

squirrel.png
bottom of page